A Deeper Cut

AdeOla Crystiana Fadumiye
2 min readMay 15, 2017

--

Prologue
I wrote this piece in 2010, and it was incited by a broken promise.
The promise was “I’ll always be there for you.”

365 days times a lifetime got us here.
The times evolved and rolled into each other, and times spoke of essence and conversations.
Water fountains
lame vocals
palpitating hearts
first sloppy kiss
dirty
gritty
sensual
erotic and sexual
trudging through snow…a beating heart, a heartbeat.

Then the cut, it felt like a little girl staring at her first blood without the beauty of a teardrop.
My lips are set in firm lines…
This was a deep one!

Deep was not Jessica or I’m thinking it was Olamide…
I am blurring the lines dude.
It was not banging on the wooden panel, dialing insanity or staring at your pill-laced eyes.
Despite the everlasting hole in me, it was not your bloodline staring right through me.
My most sacred place pulsates…
Deep was not your first penetration.

We loved! We held hands! We loved dude!
We turned the city green and angry!
We loved!

Deep was not my sick-bed, an invitation denied…
I thought I heard it kick…simply a thought

In my dearth, I dialed because we loved!
That was when Verizon trembled and fingers remained cold…
That was the deeper cut!
It really did feel like a little girl staring at her first blood without the beauty of a teardrop.
My lips are set in firm lines…no more tears here
But, that moment both tainted and healed the deepest cut

image via

--

--

AdeOla Crystiana Fadumiye

Writer + Editor. Musings on Faith, Feminism & Entrepreneurship | My life’s broken pieces sprinkled w/ silver lining perspectives @ http://www.adeolafadumiye.com