Currently Living: 2017 ONE

AdeOla Crystiana Fadumiye
4 min readMay 20, 2017

--

I’m starting a new blog series, and it is aptly titled Currently Living, because it will be all about what I’m up to or have been up to. This blog series is a snapshot of my life in word, and it is designed to help you get to know me better beyond what I’ll typically write about. Currently Living: 2017 ONE is the first of many, and I’m leaning towards sharing twice a month or one a month, though I have the feeling it will be as the mood hits. Here is to the first of many, and it covers some items from the first five months of 2017.

The first five months of 2017 swept by like a whirlwind, and April had me on the verge of a burnout. Things slowed down in May, but it’s about to rev up again come Memorial Day weekend and through the mid of June. It’s all good things, and I am thankful. Tis’ the season of warmth and sun, I am doubly thankful.

TRAVEL
I woke up from an afternoon nap in late December, and knew I needed to get out of Washington D.C. I picked Atlanta, and bought my ticket that evening for the second week in January. It was a great five days with two good friends and their kids. and it was my first time back in Atlanta in almost eight years.

In April, my dear friends, Ana and Manuel, got married in New Orleans, and I was there for the festivity. It was a small wedding with 50 guests representing 18 countries…pretty amazing gathering. The wedding was on a gorgeous plantation, but I had moments of pause specifically when I walked by what use to be the slave quarters. I also couldn’t bring myself to take a tour of the plantation; there is a part of me that cringes in spaces where I know historical erasure of narratives may occur. I did pay for a tour of a historic building in the city, and I enjoyed it immensely. I, however, couldn’t stop wondering about the true and full details of the lives of everyone who lived and worked in the home. I kept asking myself if my $12 could have been put to better use. “Shrug shoulders” Regardless, I stayed four more days in the city, and had a great time in New Orleans. It was my first time there, and I’ll definitely go back. I love the vibe of the city, the food (LOVE), and the music.

More summer trips are coming up — I’m going home to Minneapolis with my sister for Memorial Day, and we plan to take a day trip to Winona to visit our college. I’ll be in New York City in June at the 99U Conference organized by Adobe and Behance, and then off to Connecticut in the middle of June. I may be in Long Island, NY later this summer for a venue walkthrough with a September bride.

I’m clocking another beautiful number in the 30’s at the end of July, and I have Hawaii and San Francisco on my mind.

CAREER
Last year, I closed down JostWrite, my freelance writing and editing business, because I want to tell stories and write creative non-fiction. My blog was launched in April out of that desire, and my biggest goal for this first year is to use this space to curate my words and my life, and to share my writing.

In January, I decided it was time to get back to taking on more of my own event and wedding clients. In 2015, JostWrite owned my life, and I had to cut down on the event clients I took on under my event company, Crystiana Events (website coming soon). Instead I chose to work as an assistant with other planners in the DMV area. Earlier this year, I felt I was in a good place to increase my event client load, however I realized midway in February that I had a lot on my plate, and needed to slow down on that goal. Things have finally slowed down in May, and I’m contemplating going for it again. If I decide to pursue that, I may not move on it until mid June when I get back from Connecticut. I‘m still working with three planners in the DMV — I’m a lead planner for one, and day of event (DOE) assistant for two.

In light of letting go of JostWrite, I’m currently eyeing the job market (domestic and international)…maybe not this year, but it is on my mind.

DATING
I got on Tinder and Coffee meets Bagel, and then got off. I enjoy meeting people in person, but I’m not ruling out online dating.

I recently ended things with a guy I went on a few dates with. Though I initiated the “close out” conversation, we both agreed that though we enjoyed each other’s company, this wasn’t working. It was such a matured and mutually respectful conversation, and I wasn’t surprised, given how he dated me. He was top-notch and intentional. I never doubted good men existed, and he further affirmed to me that men who understand how to date intentionally and with compassion exists. Even though I consider myself a realist, I believe in love.

AND summer is a good time to fall in love. Hahaha!
Speaking of summer, I can’t wait to get to the beach and poolside.

I’ll have to end this here folks. I have so much to share from the first five months of this year, but the rest will have to go to Currently Living: 2017 TWO coming up soon.

What are key milestones or memories from your year so far?
I love to hear from you.

Originally published at www.adeolafadumiye.com.

--

--

AdeOla Crystiana Fadumiye

Writer + Editor. Musings on Faith, Feminism & Entrepreneurship | My life’s broken pieces sprinkled w/ silver lining perspectives @ http://www.adeolafadumiye.com