Do Christianity and Feminism Intersect or Collide?

AdeOla Crystiana Fadumiye
6 min readMar 17, 2020

Do Christianity and feminism go together?

It is a question I often ponder.

So when I sat down to write this blog post, I, again, asked that same question of myself and then I prayed a simple prayer. It went like this, “Okay God, I don’t know what I want to say, but I know what I want to say. However, what do you want to say?

And he responded smoothly with:

“That question is like asking, “do faith and human rights go together?” or “do faith and anti-racism go together?” or” do faith and social justice go together?” So back to you, do all of the above and faith go together?”

My answer was YES across the board. I have never questioned if God was for human rights or for the rights of anyone experiencing discrimination because of race, age, and sexual orientation. I don’t question if he is for the welfare of anyone who lacks access to wealth, opportunities, and privileges within a society. God is ultimately about our souls and shaping us into the image of Christ whatever our labels are and he may, and in many cases, require that we lay those labels down. However, he cares about the details of our lives as we live it on our journey to eternity.

God is for us; he is for the poor, the needy, the orphan, the widow, the abused, and anyone…

--

--

AdeOla Crystiana Fadumiye

Writer + Editor. Musings on Faith, Feminism & Entrepreneurship | My life’s broken pieces sprinkled w/ silver lining perspectives @ http://www.adeolafadumiye.com