Five Things I am Learning About God

AdeOla Crystiana Fadumiye
4 min readApr 21, 2020

Last decade was a decade of pulling down walls, and of unlearning and relearning realities and belief systems. I started the decade out as a Christian who believed in Jesus and the Bible and ended the decade as a Christian with a bruised and cracked faith who believes in Jesus and the Bible. The middle of that ten (10) year journey was filled with soaring faith and wrenching doubts, all culminating into a 2020 of starting over.

I unlearned and relearned a few things about who God is and here are five of them.

The only obligation God has to me is to make me more like Christ and he’d use whatever means available to accomplish that end. This is probably one of the biggest lessons I learned about God and one I had to come to terms with in the middle of the past decade. God is not obligated to answer all my prayers! Unanswered prayers, however painful or devastating, are not evidence of a loveless or dead God. I am learning to see them as evidence of a Father who knows what I need far more intimately than I know what I need. I see that truth in the prayers he answered and how he chooses to answer them. The faith journey is still one I’m wrapping my head around, and the way God operates is one I may never understand. Lately, I am learning to shift perspective and fix my eyes on the blessings and answered prayers instead of the places it seems like I may not be…

--

--

AdeOla Crystiana Fadumiye

Writer + Editor. Musings on Faith, Feminism & Entrepreneurship | My life’s broken pieces sprinkled w/ silver lining perspectives @ http://www.adeolafadumiye.com