Other Woman Syndrome!

AdeOla Crystiana Fadumiye
2 min readMay 22, 2017

--

Prologue
We met, we danced, we flirted, we talked, we kissed, then he hits me with, “I have a girlfriend, you know.”
“Oh you do?” I asked, “Why then have we been all up in each other’s personal space this past two weeks?”

Inspired by a mix match of my personal experience and the detached and not so detached observation of the stories of friends, acquaintances and strangers.

I am reminiscing on all the hidden, but fun times we shared.
I miss the way you looked at me and asked me “You good?”
I miss knowing that we have a secret that we alone share.
I miss your hands, the beat of your heart and the smell of your breath.
I miss the texts and the kisses.
But when I see her standing so close, I remember exactly why I chose to walk away.

I miss the secret eye contacts and the friction in the air when we are in the same room.
I miss the smiles and especially the feel of your hands on the small of my back.
I miss the silence and the car rides.I miss the teasing and the pushing.
I miss slapping your hands away, while secretly hoping you attempt another touch.
I miss the flirting and the messaging.
But when I see her look into your eyes, I remember exactly why I turned my back.

Originally published at www.adeolafadumiye.com.

--

--

AdeOla Crystiana Fadumiye

Writer + Editor. Musings on Faith, Feminism & Entrepreneurship | My life’s broken pieces sprinkled w/ silver lining perspectives @ http://www.adeolafadumiye.com