The Blog at One & A Giveaway

AdeOla Crystiana Fadumiye
3 min readMar 21, 2018

--

I started blogging again a one year ago today on March 21st 2017. because I had stopped writing.

Eighteen months after I started freelancing, I had stopped writing. Don’t get me wrong, I was still writing for my clients, but I had stopped writing the kind of stories I wanted to write. Hence, I needed a break from writing corporate-ish copy, because it wasn’t what I started out wanting to do, but it was where I had landed. Two years into it, I knew I had to get out, but I felt uncertain and paralyzed, so I lived through three more years of it.

Then in June 2016, I let it go and a few months after, I made the decision to blog until I could dream up my next steps. Today, March 21st 2018, is my blog’s one-year anniversary. I’m thankful and grateful that I’m still doing this, and I’m actually enjoying it.

In 2017, my goals were to write and post consistently for a year, to share stories and lessons from my life and to make sure I schedule in breaks. I have lived up to my goals. I posted consistently once or twice a week, shared my life, both the good and bad, with you, and I took two breaks, one at the end of the summer and the second at the end of the year.

In addition to blogging, I made a decision to go back to pitching story ideas, and I pitched my first story in January 2018. PHEW! I have been rejected and ignored, but I have gotten some yeses, and I got published here and there, and a few more are in the works. Year one was good! I got into a storytelling program at Yale and into a fellowship, I facilitated two discussion events, one about China’s role in Africa, and the other about Love and Worthiness, and just two weeks ago, I guest lectured at American University. The first year hasn’t turned out bad.

Year two is off to a great start, and my blogging goals are to write consistently once a week, to schedule blogging breaks throughout the year, and to explore, define and refine my interest. I realize many writers/bloggers have a niche for many reasons, whether it is Travel. Fashion. Faith. Black Culture. Feminism. Books… l have settled on a few themes, and I will explore, define and refine in year two. Sometimes, I feel the urge to rush the process of growing what I’m buildng, but I’m choosing to walk in pace and with my hands in Christ’s. I’m leaning on this mantra, “The whole culture is telling you to hurry, while the art tells you to take your time. Always listen to the arts.” — Junot Diaz

At the end of the day, I hope to add value to my readers while writing what I love.

GIVEAWAY TIME…DRUMROLL!!!

I am thankful for everyone who read, commented, followed and subscribed. Thank you for your support and love over the last year…ya’ll are the real MVPs. To show my appreciation, I am giving away a few newly or relatively newly released books by Nigerian women authors all through April.

To enter, follow me on Instagram and on my Facebook page, if you are not already doing so, AND each week, answer the giveaway question of the week. I’ll announce a winner at the end of each week. The questions will serve two purposes — you get to win a gift, and you help me align what I love to write with what serves you and adds value to you.

Open to readers in the continental USA.

--

--

AdeOla Crystiana Fadumiye

Writer + Editor. Musings on Faith, Feminism & Entrepreneurship | My life’s broken pieces sprinkled w/ silver lining perspectives @ http://www.adeolafadumiye.com