When A Woman Owns Herself…

AdeOla Crystiana Fadumiye
5 min readMar 24, 2020

The other day I sat in my therapist’s chair as we fleshed out some of my childhood experiences. In that session, he asked me to speak to a younger version of myself, and on the table at that point was my five (5) year old self. Based on the discussion we were having, she was the one I would have thought I’d want to chat with, but instinctively, I was drawn to my nine (9) old self. She was the one I chose to speak to.

My nine (9) old self is my first introduction to criticism and judgement. She is my first encounter with finger-pointing and slut-shaming. She is the self that first held back her magic, quirks and “too-muchness” because she didn’t want the neighbourhood kids to keep talking about her. She is the one that weighs what she says, wears, and how she moves against the judgement of others.

Then I began to speak to her and I realized a few things. Though she bore the brute of being ostracized for having a “boyfriend” at nine, and though residues of said judgement stayed with her…she is the self that taught me not to care about living down to the expectations of others. She is the self that taught me resilience, bravery, confidence, and strength. She taught me to make decisions without leaning heavily on external opinions. She is the one who leans towards being unconventional…to move in joy and to live fully. She is the one who was hurt, but kept her magic — she…

--

--

AdeOla Crystiana Fadumiye

Writer + Editor. Musings on Faith, Feminism & Entrepreneurship | My life’s broken pieces sprinkled w/ silver lining perspectives @ http://www.adeolafadumiye.com